From A Wiki of Ice and Fire
(Redirected from King)
Jump to: navigation, search
Coronation of King Robert Baratheon by - Henning Ludvigsen ©

Robert Baratheon's coronation

Title Your Grace, Your Radiance, Your Magnificence
Culture Westeros, Dorne, Ghiscar, Beyond the Wall, Basilisk Isles, The North, Iron Islands, Stormlands, Westerlands, The Reach, Riverlands
Book(s) A Game of Thrones
A Clash of Kings
A Storm of Swords
A Feast for Crows
A Dance with Dragons
The Hedge Knight
The Sworn Sword
The Mystery Knight
The Princess and the Queen

Kingship is the position and power of a king. There have been many kings in the Known World. In Westeros, kings inherit the title when they are the next male in line. Each of the Seven Kingdoms had a king once, though Dorne started using the title "Prince of Dorne" after Lord Mors Martell married Queen Nymeria, and the new rulers chose to abandon the Andal customs in favor of those of the Rhoynar.

It is stated that Ghiscar had a king once, but the custom was not renewed until Daenerys Targaryen conquered Slaver's Bay. It is not known if the cities of the east have kings or not. In the Free Cities the ruler is elected through democracy, while in Braavos there are Sealords.

Recently, a new Corsair King has risen in the Basilisk Isles, and a new Pirate King has risen on the Stepstones.


King of the Andals, the Rhoynar and the First Men

The first sole king in Westeros was Aegon I Targaryen, who conquered six out of seven kingdoms and was anointed in Oldtown. For almost 300 years House Targaryen reigned over Westeros until they were brought down in the War of the Usurper, giving rise to the Baratheon dynasty.

King in the North

Main article, King in the North

In 299 AC, for the first time in almost 300 years, The North declared independence and named a King in the North, Robb Stark. He ruled close to a year, until his death at his uncle's wedding.

Iron King

Main article, King of the Iron Islands

The Iron King, also known as the High King, King of the Iron Islands and King of the Isles, is the historic title given to the ruler of the Iron Islands. Using the Old Way the king is selected in a Kingsmoot, at the height of the Iron Kings rule they held the riverlands, the Arbor, Bear Island and much of the western shore. Traditionally the King is crowned upon Nagga's Hill on Old Wyk, by the High Preist of the Drowned God with a driftwood crown. Recently King Euron Greyjoy took up the crown in a kingsmoot, declared after the death of Balon Greyjoy.

King of the Mountain and Vale

Main article, King of Mountain and Vale

The King of the Mountain and Vale was the title held by the rulers of the Vale, until the Targaryens arrived. The King of the Mountain and Vale is crowned with the Falcon Crown, held by the first men ruler the Griffin King, until it was taken by the Andal invaders and passed down from Arryn to Arryn.

King of the Riverlands

Main article, King of the Rivers and the Hills

King of the Rivers and the Hills was the ancient title used by House Mudd when they were kings of the Riverlands during the time of the First Men. The Mudds ruled from the Trident to the Neck and reigned as River Kings for a thousand years before the Andal invasion. House Mudd were the last of the First Men to rule the Trident. During the War of the Conquest, Edmyn Tully was the first of the riverlords to bend the knee and was granted dominion of the riverlands.

King of the Reach

Main article, King of the Reach

King of the Reach is the title of the ruler of the Reach from Garth Greenhand to Mern IX . The Kings of the Reach were members of House Gardener. After the Field of Fire, the steward of Mern IX, Harlen Tyrell, bent the knee the Aegon I Targaryen and was subsequently rewarded with lordship of Highgarden and dominion over the Reach, titles held by House Tyrell until the present.

Storm King

Main article, Storm King

The title Storm King was held by the ancient Durrandon kings of the Stormlands, until the War of Conquest. The first of the line was Durran, who according to legends built Storm's End, and won the love of Elenei, the daughter of the sea god and the goddess of the wind. The Storm Kings established a powerful kingdom, and were able to extend their possessions to the north, capturing the Riverlands. Over time, however, King Arrec was forced to cede these northern possessions to the Iron Islands. During the Century of Blood, the last Storm King, Argilac the Arrogant aided Pentos, Tyrosh, and Aegon Targaryen against the militant tigers of Volantis when they attacked Tyrosh after previously having taken Lys and Myr. The last Storm King, Argilac the Arrogant, was slain in battle by Orys Baratheon, who took his daughter and his colors and words as his own during the War of Conquest.

Night's King

Main article, Night's King

The Night's King was a title held by an otherwise unknown Lord Commander of the Night's Watch who lived during the Age of Heroes. He was the thirteenth Lord Commander, and was said to have made an unknown woman, whose description matches the others ("with skin as white as the moon and eyes like blue stars,") his queen. During their reign, horrible atrocities were committed that are still spoken of in the North. It was only after the Night's King own brother, the King in the North, and Joramun, the King-Beyond-the-Wall, joined forces that the Night's King was defeated and the Night's Watch freed.

King of the Rock

Main article, King of the Rock

The title King of the Rock was given to Andal kings of House Lannister in the western hills and valleys of Westeros that is now the Westerlands. Its capital was at Casterly Rock. The Lannisters trace their descent back to Lann the Clever, a trickster from the Age of Heroes who allegedly tricked the Casterlys out of Casterly Rock and became the first king of the Rock. The last King of the Rock was Loren Lannister, who bent the knee to Aegon the Conqueror after the defeat of the Battle of the Field of Fire.

Prince of Dorne

Dorne was divided in several smaller kingdoms, all ruled by a King, with the example of King Mors Martell, the Lord of Sunspear about 700 years before the War of Conquest,[1] and King Yronwood, whose domains stretched out over half of Dorne. When the warrior Queen of the Rhoynar, Nymeria, landed in Dorne, she took Mors Martell as her husband. With Nymeria's host under his command, Mors Martell managed to unite the entire peninsula of Dorne under his rule, in a war called Nymeria's War.[2] The Yronwoods, who were kings in their own rights, and whose domains had dwarfed those of the Martells, had to be forced into submission.[3] Six self-styled rival Dornish kings were captured and send to the Night's Watch in golden fetters, uniting all of Dorne under the rule of House Martell.[4]

Queen Nymeria had her fleet burned on the day she wed Lord Mors, to affirm she could not turn back.[5] Ever since, after the Rhoynish fashion, the Dornish ruler has held the title of Prince, rather than King.[1]

King beyond the Wall

Main article, King-Beyond-the-Wall


"One king," agreed Davos. "One king means peace."


Navigation menu