From A Wiki of Ice and Fire
Revision as of 13:12, 18 April 2014 by Nittanian (talk | contribs) (Massey's Hook)
Jump to: navigation, search
The Crownlands with the major strongholds

The Crownlands is one of the nine constituent regions of the continent of Westeros. It was never a sovereign nation, instead being contested between the Riverlands, Stormlands and other regions until Aegon the Conqueror seized control of the area during his invasion and made it his primary foothold on the continent. Since then, the Crownlands have been ruled directly by the crown on the Iron Throne. Bastards in the Crownlands are given the surname Waters.

Geography and Climate

The Crownlands are south of the Vale of Arryn, southeast of the Riverlands, and north of the Reach and the Stormlands. The narrow sea lies to the east. With the exception of Crackclaw Point, the land is largely flat. Lying in the middle portion of Westeros, the Crownlands possess a temperate climate.

Notable locations


The metropolis of King's Landing is the driving force of the region, with the largest population and harbor in the realm. Trade and taxes flow into the capital from every corner of the realm acknowledging the Iron Throne, and many foreign vessels ply their wares as well. Virtually every craft and trade are practiced here, from metalsmithing and shipbuilding to alchemy. Elsewhere, fishing and farming are the norm, with a smattering of the common professions.


In the Age of Heroes, the petty kings of House Darklyn ruled much of the future Crownlands, from Duskendale to Crackclaw Point. Although neighboring realms forced them to swear fealty and their lands changed hands many times over the years, the Darklyns remained one of the more influential houses of the region. Two centuries before the Wars of Conquest, the Targaryens of Valyria settled Dragonstone as the westernmost colony of the Valyrian Freehold, becoming another power in the region.

It was at the mouth of the Blackwater Rush, the later site of King's Landing, where Aegon the Conqueror and his sisters, Visenya and Rhaenys, landed with their initial army. At that time the petty lords of the region had been subjugated by Harren the Black. Rosby and Stokeworth surrendered to Visenya and Rhaenys without fighting, while Aegon and his half-brother Orys Baratheon defeated the Darklyns and Mootons.[1] Massey's Hook was controlled by House Durrandon of the Stormlands, but the Bar Emmons and Masseys allied with Aegon against King Argilac the Arrogant.[2]

Since the Conquest, the Crownlands houses have historically been a strong source of support for House Targaryen, with Crackclaw Point being particularly fierce supporters. The Conqueror's original small council included several Crownlanders, including Crispian Celtigar, Daemon Velaryon, and Tristan Massey. Nobles from the region such as Qarlton Chelsted, a Hayford lord, and several Targaryens have served as Hand of the King, and even smallfolk of the region are near enough to catch the royal eye for such service, such as Rossart and presumably Septons Barth and Murmison. Nobles and smallfolk alike also provide much of the manpower for the City Watch of King's Landing. The Kingsguard has also included many Crownlanders, such as Duncan the Tall, Donnel of Duskendale, the Cargyll twins, Ser Rickard Thorne, at least six Crackclaw Pointers, and seven Darklyn knights.

At the start of the Dance of the Dragons, the Velaryons, supporters of Queen Rhaenyra Targaryen and the blacks, used their fleet to seal the Gullet and blockade King's Landing. King Aegon II Targaryen's supporters, the greens, retaliated by sacking Duskendale and Rook's Rest. The greens later broke the blockade with the Battle in the Gullet and sacked Driftmark. Rhaenyra was eventually fed to Aegon II's dragon, Sunfyre, at Dragonstone.[3]

The Defiance of Duskendale, a rising by the Darklyns during the reign of King Aerys II Targaryen, was a sign that even the normally loyal Crownlands were losing respect for the dragonlords. Later, the outlaws of the Kingswood Brotherhood robbed nobles in the forest before being suppressed by the Kingsguard. King's Landing was sacked by the forces of Lord Tywin Lannister during Robert's Rebellion, also known as the War of the Usurper. After overthrowing Targaryen rule, the new king, Robert Baratheon, kept a Crownlands presence among the White Cloaks by naming Ser Boros Blount to the order. Lingering Targaryen sympathies, meanwhile, were the reason that Robert named his brother, Stannis Baratheon, the new Lord of Dragonstone.

Recent Events

A Game of Thrones

The Crownlands are sworn to King Robert Baratheon, and the lords of the region are often seen at court. There is lingering anti-Lannister sentiment from the Sack of King's Landing, with Lady Tanda Stokeworth being among those listed by Petyr Baelish as possible supporters in a hypothetical coup after Robert's death.[4]

A Clash of Kings

On the outbreak of war, the lords of the narrow sea gather their fleets to support Robert's brother, Stannis Baratheon, while the mainland lords support Robert's supposed son, Joffrey Baratheon, who is backed by the Lannisters. The food supplies of Stokeworth and Rosby help prevent King's Landing from starving during the Tyrell embargo.[5] The split of the Crownlands effectively ends after the Lannister-Tyrell victory for Joffrey in the Battle of the Blackwater.

A Storm of Swords

Lord Roose Bolton sends a northern army led by Robett Glover and Ser Helman Tallhart to attack Duskendale, where they are crushed by Lord Randyll Tarly and Ser Gregor Clegane. Joffrey dies at his own wedding and is succeeded by his younger brother, Tommen Baratheon.

A Feast for Crows

Queen Regent Cersei Lannister appoints Gyles Rosby and Aurane Waters, two Crownlanders, to her small council, although Rosby dies of natural causes and Aurane flees the city after the queen's arrest. Dragonstone, Stannis's last remaining base in the Crownlands, is said to have been captured by Ser Loras Tyrell.[6]

References and Notes