From A Wiki of Ice and Fire
Revision as of 16:14, 2 April 2021 by Nittanian (talk | contribs)
(diff) ← Older revision | Latest revision (diff) | Newer revision → (diff)
Jump to: navigation, search

Kayakayanaya is a city in Essos,[1] located on the Steel Road on the eastern side of the Krazaaj Zasqa, part of the Bone Mountains.[2]


The walls of the city are black basalt, black iron, and yellow bone.[3] The Steel Road leads from Vaes Dothrak and the Mother of Mountains through the Bone Mountains to Kayakayanaya.[4] Fur-clad warriors ride the Steel Road escorting caravans to and from Kayakayanaya.[3]


The sister cities of Kayakayanaya, Bayasabhad, and Samyriana are ruled by the Great Fathers. Their daughters are raised from an early age to be warriors, as it is believed that only those who give birth are permitted to take life at will.[5] The warrior maids wear iron rings in their nipples and rubies in their cheeks.[1] They ride horses and are trained with bow, knife, sling, and spear.[3]

Meanwhile, the sons of the Great Fathers are gelded when they reach the age of manhood. The eunuchs serve as cooks, craftsmen, farmers, priests, scholars, scribes, and servants. The most promising males, one out of a hundred, are permitted to mature, breed, and become Great Fathers in their turn. Maester Naylin speculates on the customs in Rubies and Iron.[3]


Kayakayanaya is one of three fortress cities that were once part of the Patrimony of Hyrkoon and were founded by the Patriarchs of Hyrkoon.[3]

Over the centuries the city has faced countless assaults from the Jogos Nhai, a result of an ancient war between the Patrimony of Hyrkoon and the zorse-riders of the plains, which saw thousands of Hyrkoon carried off into slavery and many more Jogos Nhai sacrificed to the gods of Hyrkoon.[6]

Recent Events

A Game of Thrones

Daenerys Targaryen sees warrior maids from Kayakayanaya in the Eastern Market of Vaes Dothrak.[1]


  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 A Game of Thrones, Chapter 54, Daenerys VI.
  2. The Lands of Ice and Fire, The Known World.
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 3.4 The World of Ice & Fire, The Bones and Beyond.
  4. The Lands of Ice and Fire, The East.
  5. The World of Ice & Fire, Beyond the Free Cities: The Grasslands.
  6. The World of Ice & Fire, The Plains of the Jogos Nhai.