From A Wiki of Ice and Fire
Revision as of 03:20, 23 August 2019 by Gonzalo (talk | contribs)
Jump to: navigation, search

A motherhouse is a monastic community of the Faith of the Seven for septas[1] and silent sisters,[2] similar to a convent. A similar community for men is the septry.


Humfrey I Teague, King of the Rivers and the Hills, founded septs and motherhouses in the riverlands in his efforts to stamp out worship of the old gods.[3] Merle I Gardener, King of the Reach, encouraged construction of septries, septs and motherhouses in the Reach.[4]

Princess Rhaella Targaryen was a novice at the motherhouse attached the Starry Sept in Oldtown. Septa Karolyn prevented Ser Orryn Baratheon from absconding with the girl.[5]

Queen Elinor Costayne gave up all claims to nobility later in life, becoming Mother Elinor at the great motherhouse in Lannisport.[6]

In 54 AC Queen Alysanne Targaryen was hosted by silent sisters at their motherhouse in Oldtown.[2]

Maegelle Targaryen was a pious princess who became a septa. Her sister Saera, however, ran away from the Oldtown motherhouse in 85 AC while still a novice.[7]

During the Dance of the Dragons, Prince Aemond Targaryen used Vhagar to destroy the motherhouse at Bechester.[8]

Lady Jeyne Arryn died at the Motherhouse of Maris in Gulltown in 134 AC.[9]

The journey of King Baelor I Targaryen to Dorne is remembered in songs popularized by septries and motherhouses.[10]

Recent Events

A Storm of Swords

The great-aunt of Lady Ravella Smallwood is a septa at a motherhouse in Oldtown. Ravella sends her daughter, Carellen Smallwood, to the city for safety during the War of the Five Kings.[1]


  1. 1.0 1.1 A Storm of Swords, Chapter 22, Arya IV.
  2. 2.0 2.1 Fire & Blood, Birth, Death, and Betrayal Under King Jaehaerys I.
  3. The World of Ice & Fire, The Riverlands.
  4. The World of Ice & Fire, The Reach: Andals in the Reach.
  5. Fire & Blood, A Surfeit of Rulers.
  6. Fire & Blood, A Time of Testing - The Realm Remade.
  7. The World of Ice & Fire, The Targaryen Kings: Jaehaerys I.
  8. Fire & Blood, The Dying of the Dragons - Rhaenyra Triumphant.
  9. Fire & Blood, The Lysene Spring and the End of Regency.
  10. The World of Ice & Fire, The Targaryen Kings: Baelor I.