From A Wiki of Ice and Fire
Jump to: navigation, search

Prince or Princess is a title used in Westeros, Essos and the Summer Islands.


Since in Essos, particularly in the Free Cities, the city-state form of government has prevailed, the title "Prince" has been widely used. Before the Rhoynar moved to Dorne, they also lived in city-states so their rulers were styled Prince or Princess. The title Prince of Pentos is still used. [1]


In Westeros, the title is usually conferred to the children of the king. Prior to the War of the Usurper, the heir to the king on the Iron Throne held the title "Prince of Dragonstone", [2][3] and one his other sons held the title "Prince of Summerhall".[4] The rest of the children of the Monarch were styled Prince or Princess. Ever since the deposition of the Targaryens during Robert's Rebellion, the title "Prince of Dragonstone" has not been used; the children of the monarch are referred to only as Prince or Princess.

In Dorne, the ruler of that "kingdom" is styled Prince, following the Rhoynar tradition. His sons and daughters are also styled "Prince" or "Princess of Dorne," as we can see with Oberyn Martell and the children of Prince Doran Martell.[5]

Summer Islands

Some of the rulers of the Summer Islands, like Jalabhar Xho style themselves "Princes." [6]


  1. A Dance with Dragons, Chapter 1, Tyrion I.
  2. The World of Ice & Fire, The Targaryen Kings: Aenys I.
  3. The Sons of the Dragon.
  4. The World of Ice & Fire, The Targaryen Kings: Daeron II.
  5. The World of Ice & Fire, Ancient History: Ten Thousand Ships.
  6. The World of Ice & Fire, The Summer Isles.