A moratorium is in effect on adding information from Fire and Blood until December 20th.


From A Wiki of Ice and Fire
Jump to: navigation, search
The crownlands and the location of Driftmark
The crownlands and the location of Driftmark
The crownlands and the location of Driftmark
For the castle, see Driftmark (castle).

Driftmark is an island west of Dragonstone in Blackwater Bay. The seat of House Velaryon in the crownlands, it has a long point.[1] The Gullet separates Driftmark from Massey's Hook to the south.[2]

Settlements on the island have included the castles of Driftmark and High Tide and the towns Hull and Spicetown.[3][4]


Ships from Driftmark allowed House Velaryon to control the middle of the narrow sea prior to Aegon's Conquest.[5]

Shortly after the death of her husband, King Aenys I Targaryen, Queen Alyssa Velaryon brought her children to the castle of Driftmark.[6] When King Maegor I Targaryen lay comatose after a trial of seven, Alyssa proclaimed on Driftmark that her son, Prince Aegon Targaryen, was the true king.[6] After the Poor Fellows were defeated by Maegor at the Great Fork of the Blackwater, Alyssa and her Velaryon kin left Driftmark and submitted to Maegor in King's Landing.[6]

Because the ancestral castle Driftmark was damp and cramped, Lord Corlys Velaryon constructed a new castle to house the Driftwood Throne, High Tide. Hull and Spicetown also developed on the prospering island.[4] When King Viserys I Targaryen brought his court to Driftmark for the funeral of of Ser Laenor Velaryon in 120 AC, the number of dragons gathered on the island led Septon Eustace to call it the New Valyria.[7]

The dragon Sheepstealer was known for grabbing sheep from flocks in Blackwater Bay from Driftmark to as far as the Wendwater.[3]

During the Dance of the Dragons, Lord Corlys, the Sea Snake, launched black ships from Hull and Spicetown to block access to Blackwater Bay. High Tide and Spicetown were burnt in the Battle in the Gullet, the latter so severely it was not rebuilt.[3]

Recent Events

A Storm of Swords

Having been rescued from Blackwater Bay aboard the Shayala's Dance, Ser Davos Seaworth passes the long point of Driftmark while returning to Dragonstone.[1]


  1. 1.0 1.1 A Storm of Swords, Chapter 10, Davos II.
  2. The Lands of Ice and Fire, Westeros.
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 The Princess and the Queen.
  4. 4.0 4.1 The World of Ice & Fire, The Targaryen Kings: Jaehaerys I.
  5. The World of Ice & Fire, The Reign of the Dragons: The Conquest.
  6. 6.0 6.1 6.2 The Sons of the Dragon.
  7. The Rogue Prince.